Wedding Diet Weakness


The wedding dieting has really been pretty hard on me. Whether it is a mocha frappuccino from Starbucks or a cupcake from Gigi’s Cupcakes, I am typically the type who likes to indulge in a little bad eating (ha, every other day). This calorie counting diet has really made me realize the limited flexibility I have with calories in order to lose weight. I generally only have 1,300 calories to “spend” everyday and it gets less as you lose weight. The last couple weeks have been somewhat lax for me. I have stopped inputting everything I eat into my App, but always try to make a mental note of my habits for the day. I still haven’t touched a beer and I have cut out most of my alcohol (I did splurge on a glass of wine the night before my shower and last Friday I had a very small ‘skinny’ margarita at Can’s) in the last 5 weeks. Watching Baseball and Football without a little beer flavoring is difficult, I will say. I am no alcoholic, I can walk away from a drink but there is something about beer and football that go so well together. I think giving up beer/alcohol and coca cola (a feat in its own, hey I’m from ATL what do you expect?) has been the main reasons I have lost a few pounds and maintained my 116 pound weight. So, with the splurge urge coming and going, I needed something bad. My biggest baddest weakness would have to be Cupcakes. Cupcakes. They are like little bite size clouds of happiness. One bite can make your world go from gloomy and grey to rainbows and butterflies. So here I was with my new hand mixer and sticky bottom Martha Stuart bowls, pouting because all I really wanted to do was bake (I hate cooking, but absolutely LOVE baking). Not only did I want to bake, I wanted to EAT what I wanted to bake. I started searching healthy recipes and I came across this “healthy” cupcake recipe by the trainer from the Biggest Loser. I got so excited and went out to buy all the makings. I waited impatiently by the stove as they rose in their little cups of happiness. I didn’t even wait to ice them. I took them out and shoved one in my mouth. Then, I spit it out in the trash can. how HORRIBLE and what a WASTE of money and time. Distraught, and hoping that it wasn’t because I am a bad baker, I went out the next day in search of a REAL cupcake recipe, with butter and sugar, and all the other badly delicious ingredients that make them so yummy. I began with a simple vanilla cupcake from scratch recipe, but I decided to add my own touch. I had brought some raspberries (my favorite among FAVORITE fruits) the night before so after I mixed everything up I folded in the raspberries (I wanted them whole in the cupcake and very sparse so that when you bit into them you would get a little bit of raspberry goodness).

The Vanilla Cupcake Recipe:

1/2 cup softened butter
3/4 to 1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup cold milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Bake time – 18/24 mins

Makes 12 cupcakes

Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time beating after each addition. Stir in vanilla.

In a separate bowl stir together all dry ingredients. Then add to butter mixture. Stir in milk and (My special ingredient) carefully fold in fresh raspberries.

Icing: The Recipe-

Cream cheese frosting
2: 8 ounce packets of cream cheese
1/2 cup of softened butter
2 cups sifted confection sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

How did they turn out? DELICIOUS and I just couldn’t stop eating them. ❤One out of its cupThis First bite(I didn’t make the icing very pretty, but I didn’t care because they tasted like heaven.) To Do- Make prettier cupcakes.

Enjoy!

Thanks for Stopping By!

One response

Leave a Reply

